Welcome to the #1 Dodge, Jeep and RAM Forum dedicated to FCA owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the SRT Forum today!

Need advice on fighting the dreaded steering wheel vibration

AeroF16

2000 Posts Club
Donating Member
Member ID
Reactions
City
Phoenix
State
AZ
Country
United States
Vehicle
2016 Challenger Hellcat
I have been fighting a vibration in my steering wheel for a few months now. The car was aligned by Dodge in May and they completed a full inspection on it, with nothing to note.

I installed Michelin PS4s tires and had a decently bad vibration from 70-80 mph. I took them back to Discount Tire and asked them to turn off the smart weight function on the Hunter machine when they road forced them (after reading through all the threads on here and the other forum about balancing tires for these cars). I reinstalled the tires and the vibration is better, but still there. Seemed to move up to the 75-80 mph range this time. So I take them back, the manager re calibrates the machine and does everything he can, says the tires and wheels look great and are balanced to a true zero. I put the wheels back on my car and the intensity of the vibration has not changed, though now it is most pronounced in the 80-85 mph.

The only other thing I have done to the car in the same time frame as the tires was replaced the front rotors. Not sure how those could factor into the vibration. OEM rotors and I made sure the matting surface between the hub and rotors was nice and clean prior to install.

I don't have the time to get the car up in the air for the next couple of weeks to check out the front end, so I figured I ask here to get some opinions or see if anyone has had similar issues.

Hellcatcfp

5000 Posts Club
Staff Team
Founding Member
Donating Member
HFCOTM
Member ID
Reactions
State
CA
Country
United States
Vehicle
2018 Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat